Universities in Uttar Pradesh

Untitled Document
Universities in : || Tamil Nadu || Kerala || Karnataka || Andhra Pradesh || Gujarat || Bihar || Delhi ||
|| Back || Home ||

Universities in Uttar Pradesh
Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies

Untitled Document
Aligarh Muslim University
University of Allahabad
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University
Bundelkhand University
Banaras Hindu University
Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies
Ch. Charan Singh University
Chandra Shekhar Azad University of Agriculture & Technology
Chhatrapati shahu Ji Maharaj University
Dayalbagh Educational Institute
Deendayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University
Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar University
Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia Avadh University
Foresh Research Institute
Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology
Gurukula Kangri Vishwavidyalaya
Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur
Indian Veterinary Research Institute
Kumaun University
University of Lucknow
Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapeeth
M.J.P. Rohilkhand University
Narendra Deva University of Agriculture & Tecnology
Purvanchal University
U.P. Rajashi Tandon Open University
University of Roorkee
Sampurnanand Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya
Sanjay Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Medical Sciences
Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies

The Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies (CIHTS) was envisioned by Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru in consultation with His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama with a view to educate the youths of Tibet and the Himalayan border region.

Established in 1967, CIHTS initially functioned as a special constituent wing of Sampurnananda Sanskrit University, Varanasi. Thereafter the government of India reviewed the progress of the Institute and decided to accord it a status of an autonomous body under the Department of Culture, Ministry of Education, Govt. of India in 1977 with 100% financial support from the Govt. of India. The Institute steadily progressed with optimal success. The Govt. of India declared the Institute to be a "Deemed to be a University" on 5th April, 1988. Until 2000, the Institute was headed by Ven. Samdhong Rinpoche, the now Prime Minister of the Tibetan Government in Exile. The Institute is currently headed by Geshe Ngawang Samten as Director and is ably assisted by learned faculty members of the Institute in achieving its goal of excellence in the field of Tibetology, Buddhology and Himalayan Studies.

CIHTS is also a premier Research Institute, with a substantial staff of research scholars and many visitors from other academic Institutions in India and from around the world. It provides a platform for interaction between Buddhist and non-Buddhist Indian philosophical schools; between Buddhist and Western Philosophers; and between Buddhist scholars and scientists.

The National Assessment and Accredition Council, an autonomous Council established by the UGC for assessing the quality and standard of education of various universities and institutions in India, accredited CIHTS with 5 Stars which is the highest grading of the quality assurance after assessing the academic standard of the Institute by a peer team of experts sent by NAAC. It is the only university institution in Varanasi, and one of the two in the entire of Northern India, to recieve the highest grading.


Dept. of Classical & Modern Languages
Dept. of Mool Shastra
Dept. of Tibetan Buddism
Dept. of Sanskrit
Dept. of Samajik Vigyan
Dept. of Sampradya Shastra
Dept. of Tibetan Language
Dept. of Tibetan Ayurvijyan and Jyotish
Dept. of Tibetan Ship Vidya

Untitled Document
Universities in : || Tamil Nadu || Kerala || Karnataka || Andhra Pradesh || Gujarat || Bihar || Delhi ||
|| Back || Home ||